Prescription for Peace

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God, and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7).

Anxiety is a tendency I have to stay on constant guard against. In fact, I sometimes wonder if I might have been a worry wart even as a baby (I sure hope not). I have to be alert to squash this tendency as soon as I detect it rearing its ugly head.

The most successful approach is to talk to the Father about what is troubling you, speaking to Him in depth, without reservation, and with thanksgiving (giving thanks in this situation and in all situations). We can respond in this way if we trust Him, and if we believe Him–that He is always working things out on our behalf, even when we don’t understand.  

When we express our needs directly to God in this way, turning them over to Him, rather than simply meditating on them in our minds, He brings peace to our minds. We get reminded that God is still ultimately in charge in all things, and nothing can slip by Him. And we get reminded of the promise He made to us long ago: “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

With this in mind, I hope you all a Happy Thanksgiving with lots of peace!

About LindaLou

I live in North Carolina which may be the best place to live this side of heaven. I love to write and I love to learn new things. I'm going to publish that Christian devotional book sometime very soon. Just be on the look out.
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Inspiration, Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

