In Light of the Latest Headlines

I get a little nervous sometimes when I think of how things are going in the world. How about you? Watching the six o’clock news faithfully or reading the newspaper in the evening is not usually a prescription for a good night’s sleep, I can tell you that much. So from time to time, I think it best to turn from the news. Even still…we know, don’t we? We know all is not well in this world.

Just to name a few things in the news, we hear of wars and rumors of wars, gun control, hijackings, kidnappings, earthquakes, crops dying, rivers drying up, prices rising, hope declining. And let us not forget: the God of the Bible has been asked to step down.

So…we can’t help but wonder…what’s going to happen next? Is my home safe? My family? My community (and so on)? That’s when an on-time word from the Lord can bring great comfort.

But whosoever listens to me will dwell safely, and will be secure, without fear of evil (Proverbs 1:33).

We can live in safety if we will listen to the wisdom of God. Now that is a wonderful promise.

In all fairness though, we also need to read the previous verse and what the Word says about those who do not listen to the wisdom of God.

For the turning away of the simple will slay them, and complacency of fools will destroy them (v. 32).

Which way will it be then? The way of the one who listens to wisdom? Or the way of the simple and foolish? Apparently, we get to decide. Doesn’t sound like such a hard decision to me. What say you?

About LindaLou

I live in North Carolina which may be the best place to live this side of heaven. I love to write and I love to learn new things. I'm going to publish that Christian devotional book sometime very soon. Just be on the look out.
This entry was posted in End Times, In the News, Provisions of God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

