Environment Matters

I’ve always been terrified of planting things. Whether planting in a garden or in a pot, it doesn’t matter–I am usually nervous about it. Last month, I set aside my fears though and headed for the Farmer’s Market. I wanted to find enough easy-to-please flowers to make up three large pots to go in my front yard.

Copyright Mariela Valdes| dreamstime.com

I bought purple and yellow petunias (I knew these were easy to grow), and daisies in bright coral, pinks, and yellows. I also bought a flower in a hanging basket which showed off a delicate purple bell-shaped bloom. I wasn’t familiar with this flower, but the lady there assured me this flower would not present a problem.

I beamed with pride and anticipation as I carefully packed all the flowers in the back of the car and headed home. Once I got home, I repotted the flowers and placed them in the front yard–all in direct sunlight. I felt very pleased!

Do you know, flowers, just like people, don’t need or like all the same things? Have you ever thought about that?

A few days later, the petunias beamed and swayed happily in the easy May breeze. The daisies stood proudly basking in the sun. But the hanging basket didn’t look so happy. It had bowed its head, so to speak, as if cowering from an enemy. And in a few more days, its blooms had almost all dried up and fallen off. I just continued to water the flower and hope for the best.

Then I remembered something! The lady at the market had warned me about this flower. She had told me to provide it with a partially shaded environment. By now the stems had turned all brown and brittle and the blooms were nothing but a memory. I moved the plant to the porch and hoped for the best.

After a few days on the porch, lo and behold, the flower began to rise up with renewed vigor. One tiny purple bloom appeared…then two…then three spectacular blooms. At last, the stems began to lose a lot of their brown and brittle look as new green leaves appeared. What a miracle.

You know, we too can oftentimes find ourselves surrounded by conditions that don’t work for us, that work against us, draining our energy needlessly, even threatening to extinguish our very lives, if it were possible. But we can be glad that our Heavenly Father will lead us out of those things– if we will listen (see the example below from God’s word, as an example).

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the path of the sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful; but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night. (Psalm 1:1-2).

He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that brings forth its fruit in its season, whose leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he does shall prosper. (v 3)

Let’s be led of the Lord in tightening up our environment. I am sure we would all like our lives to flourish and bring forth many spectacular blooms for a very long time to come. Just remember my little hanging basket.

About LindaLou

I live in North Carolina which may be the best place to live this side of heaven. I love to write and I love to learn new things. I'm going to publish that Christian devotional book sometime very soon. Just be on the look out.
This entry was posted in Prosperous Life, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Environment Matters

  1. AyoGrace says:

    Congratulations on your new blog… I love your story and analogy. No-doubt, your passion is deeply invested and intertwined with your gifts and talents.
    AyoGrace

    • LindaLou says:

      Thank you, AyoGrace. I’m glad you got a chance to stop in and read my blog. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hope it also blessed you.

  2. magnaclifton says:

    Nice work Mom. Environment truly does matter. Congrats on the new blog.

  3. Jill says:

    Linda, I enjoyed this article. Good Luck with your now blog.

Leave a Reply

